Studio days are my favorite

I got to work in the studio for most of the day. Minus lunch and a few other things. However, when it gets dark, I have to stop working because as of right now, I don’t have any lights in my studio besides windows. While this sounds medieval, it actually works out well for me. Usually by the time it’s getting dark out, I’ve worked enough for my back to get tired and really should probably stop anyway. Not having interior lighting in my studio prevents me from working after dark and thus protects my back. 🙂

This week I began making two new inventory items that I am pretty excited about! I started making infinity scarves. If you aren’t familiar with these, they are just a loop of fabric that you drape around your neck. I began with what I call double loop infinity scarves. They are long enough to wrap comfortably around your neck twice. Well then I had the thought, “What if you don’t want that much cloth but still want that pop of color?” I grabbed some scrap fabric I had and made what I call a single loop infinity scarf.

The double loop infinity is approximately 72″ long and the single loop is approximately 30″ long. (Before sewing into a loop) I like both looks a lot. It also adds two more price points to my inventory which is great! I need some variety!

Today I’ve been working on a set of four collapse weave infinity scarves. For those of you who are unfamiliar with collapse weave, it’s a very simple concept: you use wool in your warp with silk or cotton or some other non-felting fiber and alternate stripes of fiber type. Then when you wet finish your cloth, the wool shrinks and the other fiber doesn’t. It creates these lovely ripples in the cloth.

One of the dilemmas I’ve had with collapse weave in the past is I wasn’t sure how to deal with the fringe. If you don’t twist it, it looks messy and frayed. But if you do twist it, you get strange shrinkage because parts of the fringe shrink and parts don’t. I think making infinity scarves with collapse weave fabric might be the perfect solution. 🙂 I can’t wait to get my cloth off the loom and start working with it!
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

