My baked potato soup recipe

This is for my sister! Now you have to learn how to buy potatoes in Korea. :p

My baked potato soup has become one of our favorite meals and the great thing about it is that it stretches REALLY far! I always double the recipe because, living on a farm, we have rather hardy appetites. And it’s SO SIMPLE!! I’ll add my little tweaks, but the base recipe can be found here.

Ingredients

  • 12 slices bacon (I use a package of real bacon bits)
  • 2/3 cup margarine (butter…always butter)
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour (I probably would use a bit more than this because it makes the white sauce thicken faster so you don’t have to stir forever)
  • 7 cups milk (naturally, since I live on a dairy farm, I use raw milk)
  • 4 large baked potatoes, peeled and cubed (throw ’em in the microwave right before you start)
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 1 1/4 cups shredded Cheddar cheese (sharp cheddar!)
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon salt (haha…a lot more than that!)
  • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper (DEFINITELY a lot more than that!)

Directions

  1. Place bacon in a large, deep skillet. Cook over medium heat until browned. Drain, crumble, and set aside. (You can skip this if using bacon bits. Saves a step and a pan and really tastes just as good)
  2. In a stock pot or Dutch oven, melt the margarine over medium heat. Whisk in flour until smooth. (You’re looking for the mixture to start bubbling a bit)  Gradually stir in milk, whisking constantly until thickened. [Keep temp on med – med/high the whole time. The original directions say bring to boil. DON’T. It burns] Stir in potatoes and onions.
  3. Reduce heat, and simmer 10 minutes. Mix in bacon, cheese, sour cream, salt, and pepper. Continue cooking, stirring frequently, until cheese is melted.

Another way you can cook this is in a crock pot. You still have to make the white sauce (butter, flour and milk) but you can throw that in the crock pot with your potatoes and onions and let it sit for however long you need and then right before you’re ready to eat it, throw in the sour cream, cheddar cheese and bacon bits. I’ve done it both ways but if you do the crock pot way, bake your potatoes for less time so they aren’t complete mush…unless you like complete mush… 😀 The whole thing really only takes about thirty minutes. We usually get about 3-4 meals out of it! It’s SUPER FILLING. I definitely think it’s perfect for winter, but we enjoy it just as much during warm weather seasons. Have a potato soup party and invite over some friends!
~JoAnna

3 thoughts on “My baked potato soup recipe

  1. I finally made it! 😀 It took me hours… >.< I think that's because my pot wasn't big enough, I'm inexperienced with white sauces, and I don't have enough counter space to make stuff. Oh, and milk doesn't come in big enough containers, so I had to go to the store. 😛 But it was really tasty! And the second half-batch went a lot faster than the first one since the stuff was already measured and the bacon was already cooked.

    It's the first time I've cooked bacon in Korea, since people say the bacon here is weird. I didn't think it was weird, just small. Thanks for sharing your recipe with meeee!! ^_^ Now it's 1 am, so I'm going to bed.

  2. Thanks again for this recipe. I forget how long it took me to make it last time, which is probably why I’m being ridiculous and considering trying it again… Maybe I can avoid making the potatoes all gluey like they were last time.

Leave a Reply

