Weaver’s block

Since my focus for the past month has been keeping my animals in good health, I haven’t done much weaving. I also feel like I have weaver’s block! I’m once again in the rut of “Oh I only have a 4 shaft loom…I can’t do anything with that!” What a pathetic pity party! There are SO many things you can do with a four shaft loom. I just need to be reminded of them yet again. There are MANY patterns and variations that I haven’t tried yet. I still have barely scratched the surface of the potential of my loom.

I’ve been mostly weaving shawls lately. Tencel shawls. I tend to be a color weaver and focus more on that than pattern or texture. I’ve been doing a lot of plain weave because I just love how soft and supple Tencel fabric feels in a plain weave. Okay, maybe I like texture too….But I tend to think of smooth as a lack of texture.

I am weaving a set of 6 (possibly 7?) shrugs right now. They are incredibly simple to weave and to sew but I LOVE them. Inspiration found here. I am planning on getting back to scarves pretty soon since my scarf inventory is pretty low (how about non existent??). The other items I’m planning on weaving in the near future are clutch bags (made from felted wool) and slouchy messenger bags. These tend to be good sellers at shows and since I have one of my two biggest shows in about 2 months, I need to get crackin! The annual Spring TACA Fair is happening the weekend of May 6th at Centennial Park in Nashville, TN. I’ll be there and I can’t WAIT! 🙂

I’m also trying to come up with a good summer item. Let’s face it, scarves and shawls aren’t big sellers when it’s 90+ degrees outside…So what to sell in the summer? This question is constantly running through my head. Stay tuned for more details in that department. Or tell me whatyouthink! What kinds of handmade items would tempt you in the summer??

Well I think I shall go for now. I need to actually get to my loom instead of sit here blogging about it all day. My shrug fabric awaits to woven!
~JoAnna

One thought on “Weaver’s block

Leave a Reply

