Networking at Celebration

Today was the annual Celebration of Craft at the Appalachian Center for Craft. Mom and I decided to go together this year. It was the first year I actually attended rather than worked in one of the studios. It was so FUN! We mostly just walked around and talked to people and looked at all the lovely art that was everywhere. πŸ™‚ SO fun to see all the ideas people have.

Strangely, our trip became a bit of a business network opportunity for me. Of course I wanted to talk to my fibers instructor! Jeanne was demonstrating spinning while we were there. I brought some of my work along with me just in case she had a few minutes to talk. She loved everything I was making and was so proud of me for getting into Mayfair. πŸ™‚ That just made my day.

I also got to catch up with a few of the people that I know that are still in the fibers studio. I’ll tell ya, there is some AWESOME stuff coming out of there right now. Really cool ideas with structural fabric and cool possibilities using the nature of fabric itself.

I stopped in the gallery to talk to the gallery director about possibly getting my work in there (yay! another venue!) and she said just call and set up an appointment to show her my work. Yay! That was easy.

We ate lunch at the new Redbud Cafe (Management change from the Walkway Cafe) and it was DELICIOUS! Mom and I both had chicken salad sandwiches (basically one of my favorite foods of all time) and they were sooo tasty.

After lunch, we went over to the clay studio and I got to catch up with some of my friends from the throwing class I took. It was fun to see what everyone was working on and just to see ART!! I miss being surrounded by other artists and seeing what other people are working on. While we were in there, I was able to catch Vince and ask if it was okay for me to email him about some equipment I might be buying to find out if it’s a good deal. He said he’d be happy to help and said, “It warms my heart to see any student that I have taught continuing on in clay.” πŸ™‚ awww. I definitely want to continue in ceramics! I hope this opportunity works out! I’ll write more in depth when I know something more for certain.

Anyway, it was a lovely day full of business and pleasure. I’m so glad we were able to go. And now I’m really looking forward to the TACA fair in about a month. I think it’s going to be so fun! I should probably get back to work since I didn’t get to actually make anything today since we were out all afternoon.
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

