44 lbs of lard?! Eeeeeeeewwwww….

Yes. 44 pounds of lard! Vegetable lard is one of the main ingredients in the goat milk soap we make at Fall Creek Farms. Today I spent my “morning shift” buying supplies for making soap. They are as follows:
1 gallon of honey
11 tubs (4 lbs ea.) of lard
1 large bottle of almond oil
3 gallons of olive oil
4 large containers of oatmeal

I had to go to the Cookeville Wal-Mart twice, the Algood Wal-Mart once, Sam’s, Hobby Lobby, Hancock and Good Shepherd Health Foods to find all of this. And I actually didn’t buy enough lard. But Ben’s getting the other 4 tubs on his way home from work. If they don’t have it, it’s not a big deal. I’m not making the soap all at once.

I also bought more soap molds so we would have enough to make two batches a day. 7 of those. They aren’t all uniform shape, but that might be okay.

I will have to be placing a wool roving order soon with either Webs or Yarn Barn. I do love Webs and they have wonderful prices and great discounts but I do wish I could order from Yarn Barn. I was thinking about adding on some more 5/2 cotton when I order the wool, but Webs really has a fairly limited color selection. 😦 Bummer. So I’ll have to think about that for a while.

I finally remembered to take pictures of the three sets of place mats I’ve woven. Here they are:

Like I said, I think the blue and white are my favorites. They’re just GORGEOUS! In the green/yellow and blue/white sets there are two of each color combination. In the variegated violet (can’t resist alliterations) set, they are all the same.

I have enough 5/2 cotton to weave maybe two more sets but then I’m out! And I need more for napkins and pillows. Although, I suppose the pillows could be of different fiber content. I have other yarns to choose from. I just figured durability, right?

Speaking of durability, I really need to do a durability test on my woven goods so I know how they actually hold up after many washings. Are they actually machine washable or do I need to say hand wash on everything?? Eeeek!

Ummm…Oh! I also found some wool roving at Hancock Fabrics so I could try dyeing it to see if it was hard to do or not. It’s not. At all. I have to wait for it to dry to see if it still felts okay, but I don’t think it’ll be a problem. So I’ll probably be buying white and brown wool. So I’ll have brown bars of soap as a base color and then I can add other colors onto the brown. Trying to keep it simple! It only took about 10 minutes to dye the wool so that’s not a problem.

I should probably go and work on whatever’s next!
~JoAnna

One thought on “44 lbs of lard?! Eeeeeeeewwwww….

  1. I’m particularly jealous of your ability to buy large containers of oatmeal. Maybe once I get my finances coming in, I can actually make a trip to Costco and see if they have oatmeal. I’ve managed to find many other ingredients I need for baking (well, not the actual toaster oven yet either), but oatmeal just isn’t turning up. I can hardly believe your supply list, that’s immense!

    The blue and cream ones are probably my favorites of these too I think. Mediterranean is a good way to describe them.

Leave a Reply

