TACA meeting

I forgot to mention that I went to my first TACA meeting. Well…first meeting as an actual member. I’ve been to them before because my mom’s been on the board or an officer or whatever on and off for like 7+ years.

Anyway, it was a good meeting. Although I have to admit, it felt like sitting in a room with aunts and uncles all arguing about a plan of action for what to do next. I say aunts and uncles because there were only two people (myself and a clay student I know) in the room under the age of 50. Ryan (clay student) and I didn’t say much. Although he said more than I did because he’s involved with VAS…

Anyway, once the business end of the meeting was done, we had show and tell. Everyone brought pieces that they had been working on to show to the other members. I had NO idea what to bring because I’ve never been before so I just grabbed a pile of woven stuff that I’ve done in the past few months and took it with me. I took two overshot table runners, a linen canvas weave table runner, a huck lace scarf, a boucle rayon scarf, and the orange felted blanket. It was encouraging to hear other artists compliment me on my work. Especially artists that have been artists for much longer than I have.

I don’t know if any of you reading this are familiar with Claudia Lee, but she’s a paper/fiber artist and she’s just wonderful. πŸ™‚ She was there and being the only other weaver/fibers person besides myself and my mom, she was the only person that probably truly understood what goes into weaving. She also made a really good loaf of bread which I devoured! haha.

Susan DeMay (sp?) was there as well. She’s the clay instructor at Vandy and I love her work. It’s whimsical and just lovely. πŸ™‚ She liked my orange blanket in particular.

Anyway, it was nice to get to hang out with other artists even if they were several decades older than me. haha. Plus it was at the Craft Center and I was happy to be back up on The Hill even if it wasn’t for class. I’ve missed it terribly. Although I did sort of feel out of place being there now. Oh well. πŸ™‚

Now I just have to wait in agony for another week to find out if I got into the TACA Spring Craft Fair! EEEK!
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

