Finished!

I finished The Fellowship of the Ring this morning. ๐Ÿ™‚ I probably would have finished it last week if I had remembered to bring it with me to the farm. Buuut….I didn’t. And I was kicking myself the whole week!

Anyway, the last time I attempted to read it, I think I was like 17. I must say, my reading comprehension has improved VASTLY since then. Which may be from being forced to read strange/old literature in college where if you don’t pay attention and comprehend what’s going on, you fail a quiz which leads to failing the class. It was much easier to understand and catch some of the history that they’re all talking about all the time.

I must confess, I skipped almost ALL the songs. They take forever to read and most of the time they don’t relate to anything at all. Occasionally they do, but since I’m not going to remember them by the time I’m reading the Silmarilion, I figured I’ll re-read them when I get to that point.

Hopefully I’ll start the Two Towers SOON! ๐Ÿ™‚ Another confession: I still just love the movie. Not more than the book, necessarily, but probably the same. And I definitely like Boromir’s character better in the movie. He’s deeper and more conflicted rather than just being a steward’s son who’s obsessed with his city. He’s like one of the annoying football fans that’s completely obsessed with his team and is incapable of thinking of anything else. Yup. Oh and Sam’s character is better in the book. He’s great in the movie, but so much more so in the book. ๐Ÿ™‚ Okay. I think I’m done for now. I’m going to go weave a bit.
~JoAnna

PS: Double nerd moment: I love when they’re leaving Lothlorien and they Company is given Elven clothing. It was woven by Galadriel (Sp? forgive me) herself. For the movies, they hired handweavers to weave the cloaks that they are given. I believe they used Merino wool? You have to love me anyway. Despite my nerdom.

Edit: They actually used a specific sheep breed from…Gotland? The yarn used was a handspun blend of gotland wool and alpaca and was approximately 35 wpi (thickness…Wraps per inch) The movie hired a specific textiles guild from NZ which is pretty awesome. They’ve done work on several other movies including the Narnia movies. Stansborough is the name a believe.

Leave a Reply

