Weavings

As I said in the last post, I’m still stuck on table runners. I’m looking forward to making slightly smaller projects once I’m done. Or just projects that aren’t sett so tight!

I can’t wait to get some of that wonderful pima cotton on my loom! πŸ™‚ I’d like to try M’s and O’s with it since I haven’t tried that pattern yet. I also want to try huck lace, more canvas weave and some double weave. I have this great idea for double weave scarves. πŸ˜€

After I get the cornflower blue table runners on and off, I have one more warp of white table runners I’m going to put on and then I’ll be all done with table runners for a while. Phew! That’ll be a relief.

I suppose I should prioritize my weaving list. I think it’d be easier to do that. Although, I’ve tried that before and I didn’t stick to my list very well.Β  I get so excited about other projects and ideas that I just end up changing the list anyway.

Well anyhow. I have lots of plans and ideas that I’d like to do.

OH! I nearly forgot one of my goals for this year: Learn to spin on a drop spindle. I’ve read about halfway through Respect the Spindle that I got for Christmas and for one, I wish I’d been born in the Andean mountains of Peru so I would already have the skill of spindling, but also I’m starting to see spindling not as a cheap “starter” alternative to wheel spinning, but as its very own art/craft. The biggest plus being that it’s mobile. You can take it with you anywhere. πŸ™‚ So that needs to happen. I really probably should have bought the DVD. I’m not sure why I didn’t have that on my list too…Oh well. Perhaps I can get it eventually.
~JoAnna

2 thoughts on “Weavings

  1. I am taking a beginning spinning workshop this spring and I’m super excited πŸ™‚

    I really need to make a list because I get really excited about stuff and trash what’s on my loom. I’m attempting a table runner right now… and it’s not working out so well. I really wish you lived closer so we could bounce ideas off each other and keep ourselves motivated!

    • Awesome! I’m totally jealous of your spinning workshop. I keep hoping I’ll find one somewhere or find someone that would be willing to teach me but nothing so far.

      I’ve SO done the whole “get excited and trash what’s on my loom” thing. Or if I don’t cut it off, I’ll try to weave it really fast and end up with crappy selvages and an icky product.

      I wish we lived closer tooo!! Since we don’t though, feel free to email me or facebook me or anything about ideas you have. πŸ™‚ I’d LOVE to bounce ideas around with each other.

Leave a Reply

