A new year

Happy New Year!

My blogging is not off to a good start. I’m hoping as things return to normal, my blogging time will return to normal. I’ve been at the farm working everyday pretty much since we got back from Atlanta. But I’m home today and planning on working on the loom. πŸ™‚

I don’t really do new year’s resolutions. Ben’s family typically has a planning meeting at the beginning of each year to discuss what goals each of us wants to accomplish. It’s really good because then other people can give you input and help you achieve those goals.

I haven’t really thought in detail about what I want to accomplish this year. It’s different not being in school and not having that ever looming goal of wanting to graduate.

I suppose one goal is to continue to build my business. I’m not sure that I’ll even get in to the TACA Fair this year. In fact, in the back of my mind I’m telling myself that I won’t so that I won’t be let down if I don’t. All the same I’m still preparing inventory for it. πŸ™‚

Another goal is to read more books. I was discussing with Ben last night that I have a million books that I want to read but I don’t know which ones I should read first and all that jazz. I get overwhelmed easily. πŸ˜‰ Here are a few of the books that I’d like to read:
The Lord of the Rings trilogy, yes I’ve read it, but I’d like to re-read it.
The Silmarilion (sort of a continuation of LOTR).
The Dune series. Ben speaks very highly of these books and often talks about how they have influenced the way he thinks about things. They’re actually very philosophical.
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series. There are 5 books in this series and Ben said that they are surprisingly heavy in content.
Jane Eyre. I got this for Christmas and I’ve been meaning to read it for a while.
Pride and Prejudice. Yup. Needs to happen.
A Tale of Two Cities.
The Great Gatsby. (Finish it. Although I’ll probably just start over)
Silas Marner and other George Eliot works.
The Eragon series. Much lighter than everything else on my list so, honestly, it’ll probably be last because I don’t think I want to end on a heavy note.
There are probably quite a few others that I’d like to read, but these are a few. I really hope I make time to read this year. I do love it. Ben suggested that I read the LOTR books and the Silmarilion first. That’s pretty hefty for a slow reader like me. I tend to get lost in description and that’s a lot of what the LOTR books are. But I’m looking forward to it. πŸ™‚

I’d also like to just weave more and experiment more. I’m still stuck on table runners right now. Of the 5 I made, I gave away 3. Our dear friends, Arthur and Lauren, told me yesterday that they LOVE their table runner. πŸ™‚ They said it fits PERFECTLY over their coffee table which is, from my understanding, beat up and not really attractive. So they put it over that. Lauren told me she loves to feel it because of the silk in it. πŸ™‚ I also asked Arthur if the colors bothered him at all (He’s colorblind so this is actually really important). He said no and that he really liked the colors. πŸ™‚ I’m so happy!!

My sweet mama loved her green and white table runner as well. πŸ™‚ She actually teared up when I gave it to her. It warmed my heart.
Ben gave one of the table runners to his boss and his wife and they loved theirs too. Initially though, Ben’s boss didn’t know quite what it was. And then when Ben explained it, he still didn’t quite get it but said that his wife would know. haha. πŸ˜‰ Cute.

Anyway, I’ll probably continue to put up different goals as they come along.
Obviously one of them is MOVE TO THE FARM!! πŸ™‚
~JoAnna

 

Leave a Reply

