Presents, presents

Merry Christmas! Our family plans have changed a bit and
since the weather is going to be rather cold and unpleasant in FL,
we will not be going for Christmas. However, we came to this
conclusion AFTER we had our gift exchange, so now we won’t have
gift opening on Christmas morning. 🙂 It all works out though.
Everyone’s happy. We’ll still have our traditional cinnamon roll
breakfast tomorrow morning though. Our plans are a bit scattered
still but I believe we’re leaning towards going to Atlanta as a
family and then perhaps doing a snowboarding trip with just the
siblings. Anyway, I thought I’d share some of the things I got. As
mom put it, all that was on my list was yarn and books. And that’s
pretty much exactly what I got. Here are the weaving/fiber related
books I received:

I also got
some “fun” reading (as in fiction). My sister gave me the second
book in the Eragon series as well as a book with several works by
George Elliot, who wrote Silas Marner. Silas Marner has been one of
my favorite books in American literature since high school. Long
before I was even interested in weaving, I fell in love with this
story and the author. George Elliot was a pen name. Elliot was
actually a woman and had to use a man’s name in order to be able to
get her works published. Sarah also bought me a used 3rd edition of
Jane Eyre. We had gone to a used book store a few weeks ago and I
saw and wanted to buy it, but didn’t have the money at the time. 🙂
She bought it for me. It’s such a lovely old book. I believe the
third edition was printed in 1848! 🙂

My brother bought me the
Hitchhiker’s Guild to the Galaxy series by Douglas Adams. I’m a big
fan of the movie and borrowed the book from a friend a while ago
but had to return it before I had time to finish it. I’m pretty
excited about that one too. It’s actually…5(?) books in
one.

I did say I asked for yarn and books. Well I got somewhere around…24 pounds of yarn. My sister bought me a couple of cones of 6-ply rayon from webs, a 4 oz cone of zephyr silk/wool, and three types/colors of rayon boucle.

My brother bought me a pound of 5/2 rayon and a pound of 5/2 cotton from Yarn Barn of Kansas. Because, it’s Yarn Barn of Kansas! How can you argue with that? He was so sweet, he asked me, “is it okay that I just got you yarn??” and I was like, “absolutely!! I’m SO excited!!!!”

My mom and dad always buy each of us one big present. My big present this year was two 8 pound cones of Pima cotton from R&M Yarns. I. Was. Ecstatic. I still am. I have been wanting to buy some of this stuff all year!! I know I’ve told this story several times but I’ll tell it again. Lauren, from the craft center, bought some of this yarn in January when it was on sale and made the most beautiful M’s and O’s blanket I’ve ever seen. It was breath-taking. I can’t wait to get a few more table runners on and off the loom and then dig in to the new yarn. 🙂 it’s going to be so fun!!

I hope tomorrow is wonderful for you and it’s lotsa fun! Praise the Lord for His Son. Without Him, we would have no hope for eternity. But with Him, we are covered in grace and mercy. 🙂
~JoAnna

3 thoughts on “Presents, presents

  1. Oh JoAnna! What a lovely Christmas! All those books and yarn 🙂 I’m glad ya’ll are taking it easy and doing what you want this year. Those are such lovely wintry gifts. 🙂 Love you bunches! And merry merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

