No pictures lately…

It’s been too cold to whip out my camera lately when I’m at the farm. But I can say that the baby goats are all doing very well. 🙂 Merry and Pippin are HUGE. They’re practically the size of the “babies” that were born at the beginning of this year!

Molly called me yesterday and told me something CRAZY and exciting. When I was at the farm yesterday, I happened to be in the barn during morning milking. I was assigned the lovely task of putting each baby back with it’s mama. 🙂 I love doing this because I get to hold all of them. Also, my mama-in-law said she didn’t think I’d be able to get them out one at a time because they tend to just all run out of the stall they were in from the night before. Naturally, I had to prove her wrong. 🙂 I got each one and put them away one by one. HA!

Anyway back to the exciting story. I noticed that one of the pregnant mamas (who has been looking VERY pregnant lately) was not in her stall that morning. When I asked about it, they said that she was probably in the back of the barn or wandering around somewhere. I didn’t think much of this until Molly called last night.

Apparently Dory, the mama in question, had gone missing for the day and when they went to feed all the goats she was still not back. So the fam went out to search for the goat (this happens more often than you would think…). When they found her, she was just up the hill from the barn (from my understanding) and she had two completely dry and clean babies with her that had to have been at least 24 hours old. 🙂 One boy and one girl which we have since named Mush and Marge, to my knowledge. (Mush as in Mushroom) Dana and Molly said they were completely dry, as I mentioned before, and were even jumping and hopping around a bit.

Ben always jokes that we should get rid of mamas that DON’T do this. If they aren’t strong enough to go out on their own and have babies like they would in the wild, they’re not worth keeping. Well if we based keeping them on that, we’d DEFINITELY be keeping Dory! 🙂 Yay for babies!!

I will attempt to get pictures of the newer babies, Holly, Cedric and Zelda, and Mush and Marge when I’m out there again. Although I’m not entirely sure when that will be…I’m not sure if I’ll be out there tomorrow because I don’t know what the plan is for the rest of the week. I’m going one day at a time. 🙂

As for known prego mamas left to deliver, I think Bashful might be the only one left…Oh and possibly Jet. But she’s gone into false labor TWICE.

Last week (maybe the week before) we discovered that one of the babies from the beginning of the year had miscarried a baby. I’m not sure if I mentioned this or not…It was a sad discovery… 😦 But Skittles is healthy and will most likely still be a good breeder/milker. It’s hard though because these babies were really still BABIES and should not have gotten bred yet.

Prissy, our teen sob story mama *lol* should not have survived her pregnancy and delivery. She is the exception to the rule. It’s EXTREMELY rare that a goat bred at four months will be able to carry the kid to full term. Generally either the mother or the baby does not survive delivery. But Prissy and Snowflake did. And they are doing WONDERFULLY! Prissy has become a good milker, already giving 1.75lbs. of milk per milking (approx.) which is spot on for first time milkers. Snowflake is energetic and hardy and LOVES to run and jump. Both mama and baby will be wonderful additions to the herd. 🙂

I can’t wait to meet the new babies! I was told they look similar to some of the other babies with slightly different markings. 🙂 Yay for lots of little goats running around the farm!
~JoAnna

3 thoughts on “No pictures lately…

  1. Wow, Dory! That’s amazing 🙂 I am glad Skittles will still be able to have babies when she’s older. I can’t wait to meet them! Should I wear my ginormous tractor supply rain boots? Haha. Love you.

Leave a Reply

