Good day :)

Today has been good despite what some people would call nasty weather. I actually quite enjoyed the weather today. I went for a run despite the drizzle and spent most of the day at my loom. Perfect weather for “looming” as my in-laws would say. (Most of the time they say it to tease me…sometimes they forget it’s called weaving.)

I have to say, I really love cotton. I forget how much I love it when I’m using other yarns but it really is wonderful. It’s so stinkin’ durable! You can’t do anything to it! Okay, you can, but you know what I mean. haha.

I ended up finishing table runner #1 just a few minutes ago. It took me most of the day and I could have broken it up into a few days work but I was just having too much fun.

I can’t believe that I’m at a point in my weaving ability where I can sit down and weave something up in one day. I NEVER thought I would reach that point. I remember reading posts on Weavolution about things people were making and getting so utterly depressed that I couldn’t even manage a scarf in one day. But it DOES happen!! And it sneaks up on you! The only thing I can say is just keep weaving. You just have to practice, practice, practice! I was talking to…I believe one of the founders of Weavolution via forum posts and she told me that at that point, she’d woven hundreds of things. Dressed a loom probably hundreds of times before she was “good” at weaving.

It actually reminds me a lot of playing piano…or really any instrument. If you’ve ever played an instrument you know that if you don’t practice, everything is hard and you progress VERY slowly. It can be so discouraging! But if you do practice and keep up with it and learn through mistakes, eventually you get to the point where you can sit down and play lots of things that you never thought you could at the beginning.

I feel like I’m FINALLY at that point. The point where you realize, “Hey, I’m halfway decent at this instrument! I can play _____ like I always wanted!” I’m finally not afraid of my loom or intimidated by projects. Okay, not intimidated by ALL projects. (Some still scare me!!) Like, say, a coverlet. That’s soooo beyond me right now! I’m very happy with my four shafts and looking forward to continued exploration in pattern, texture and color. 🙂
And THAT is why today was a good day.
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

