Weave along!!

Today I wound off warp for the table runner weave along! I’m SO excited!!! =D Yup. It’s gonna be fun! It took me about an hour and a half to wind off the warp. The actual dressing the loom I’m sure will take a loooong time because there are 600 ends. I think the most I’ve done at this point is 450. Should be fun. I’m pretty excited. I ended up doing a mixed warp of Tencel and silk because I didn’t like the Tencel that I had all by itself. Since I’m making this FOR someone in particular I won’t be using more than two colors in the warp and I want them to blend rather than stand out from each other. It won’t actually look like the draft we chose…Not exactly. Mine won’t have the plaid stripes in it. But that’s okay. šŸ™‚ I’ll probably tie on to this warp and make another one or two. We’ll see. I already have plans for several different color schemes. Here’s a preview of the color.

The more orange color is the Tencel and the pinkish/red color is the silk.

Here’s a picture not so close up. I want the colors to blend and make a different red since neither fit what I wanted for this project by itself.

That’s all you get to see for now. šŸ™‚ I think it’s going to be quite luscious. The warp is SO soft!! I can’t wait to get it on the loom and start weaving it up! I’m trying not to think about the last time I attempted to weave overshot. I hope this goes better than that...(you can read about it on that link…No pictures. Sorry. I didn’t have a camera last year)

I have also been thinking that I definitely need to work on keeping better records of what I weave. I always think, “Well I’ll never forget what I did on this so I don’t need to keep a record.” But I DO forget which means I DO need a record. The blog helps, but I don’t usually put my calculations on here. Perhaps I should start doing that so I have a record SOMEWHERE!

Well I’m going to go for a run and then go do errands in town. And THEN come back and start dressing the loom, hopefully.
~JoAnna

3 thoughts on “Weave along!!

  1. Ahhh!! I'm so excited!!! I am planning on winding off today too. I took all my tencel out of storage and I am not sure what I am going to do as far as color schemes. I wanted to make it for my mom and the colors don't really work with what she wants… I may have to dye some but I'm not at that point yet, give me a few minutes šŸ™‚

  2. Thanks! It's a large project but I'm really excited. I wanted it to be really wide because the last few table runners I've done were too narrow for my taste. This one should be more what i've been thinking in my head.

Leave a Reply

