Blerg!

In weaving on my blanket project for 5 minutes I have learned the following things:

1. Weaving wide is difficult if you don’t actually have a weaving bench and are just using a chair…

2. Longer boat shuttles exist for a reason.

3. Floating selvages are hard to reach if, again, you don’t have a weaving bench upon which to sit.

4. Doubled sett in the selvages is unnecessary to achieve clean selvages when weaving the full width of your loom.

5. Long treadling patterns are annoying when weaving wide…Scratch that. Everything appears annoying when weaving wide.

It’s going to take some time to get used to this. Hopefully by the end of the warp, I’ll be weaving much smoother and more fluidly. Right now it’s like I’m just learning to weave again. UGH!
Okay. Back to the loom. 🙂
~JoAnna

2 thoughts on “Blerg!

  1. Aww! It sounds like fun! When I was weaving my rag rugs, they took up the full width of my loom. I also did shadow weave which was like a 50 treadle sequence. I tightened the sett on the edges as well and it didn't do anything… I probably should have posted all this a few weeks ago to give you a heads up!!PS Get a weaving bench!!

  2. haha. that's okay. I have to learn eventually. 😉 I kept hoping since my husband is a woodworker he'd figure it out that I need him to make me a bench for my loom!!!I gave up on a 10 treadle sequence this morning! But that was partially because I wasn't quite awake and it wasn't really working with the sett I used. I tend to do that when learning something new. Throw every possible variant in and have to do EVERYTHING new instead of just trying ONE new thing at a time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

