Weaving again

After a few days (a week?) off, I’m back on my loom. I’m working on another scarf using the sock yarn I dyed yesterday. I have to admit, I’m getting a little sick of weaving scarves. But I realized that I’m still learning a lot. I’ve learned how to be more consistent, my selvages are more even, my tension is more even, I’m quicker at twisting fringe, I feel like my all around craftsmanship is really improving by just cranking things out and learning through trial and error what works and what doesn’t. I also haven’t had any problems with setting yarn at the wrong epi or not knowing how a yarn will behave in a while.

I once asked on Weavolution how to get good, even selvages and one of the responses I got was to just keep weaving. Everyone has bad selvages at the beginning but with practice, they get better. That seemed so far away and hard to do at the time. But I really feel like I’ve improved a lot by simply making more product.

Anyway here are the pictures:

I love the colors! πŸ™‚ It’s looking really good so far. It’ll probably end up being shorter than some of the others because I think I’ll end up running out of dyed yarn. But that’s okay. πŸ™‚ I need to vary up my lengths.

I was reading Reader’s Digest today (my parents subscribe to it and have old copies lying around the house) and I read two interesting quotes. One was, “Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.” and the other, “Amateurs wait for inspiration. The rest of us just get up and go to work.” Both of these were by actors, but I was thinking that they apply to craft as well. Some days I feel like I don’t necessarily have any inspiration for a project I’m working on. It’s just work. I think sometimes inspiration comes from just continuing to work and work and work. And I love the idea of allowing yourself to make mistakes! I wouldn’t have learned half the things I have if I hadn’t made as many mistakes as I have. You can read back through my blog (towards the beginning of it) and I used to get SO frustrated. (still do. Don’t worry.) but I always tried to remind myself of what I learned from a mistake. Oh goodness! I’ve made so many STUPID mistakes!! haha. Trying to get 3/2 pearl cotton to go through a 15 dent reed? I’m pretty sure I tried to double it at first…hahahaha.

Pretty soon I’m going to re-dress my loom for a different project. I’d like to slowly work my way back up to tighter setts. I’ve been working at 12epi for so long I’ve forgotten what it’s like to have more than 90 ends! haha. I’d love to use some of my tencel and/or silk. I’d like to weave yardage and blankets and DIFFERENT scarves. I’ve been wanting to try weaving plain weave scarves with 20/2 cotton sett at 30epi. I could maybe even sett it looser than that. But that’s about what those gauze-y scarves that they sell…everywhere are sett at…from what I can tell.

There are also some projects in my Handwoven magazines that I’d like to try. Actually, two friends are getting married in December and I have decided to make them something so that will probably be next. I say that because one of the projects in one of the magazines is what I have in mind for them. πŸ™‚
Okay. I should probably go back to work now…
~JoAnna
PS: The days are getting shorter…that’s about the only thing that I dislike about fall/winter seasons. I don’t like having so little daylight. It makes me feel like I don’t have enough time to get everything accomplished. I love it during the summer when the sun doesn’t fully set until like 9pm. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Weaving again

Leave a Reply

