Staying busy

I haven’t lined up any shows for myself for a few weeks. The next one that I know of is Artisans(or maybe just artists) of the Cumberlands. It’s in McMinnville again on November 18. We heard about it when we were at the Autumn Street Fair a few weeks ago.

However, my mom has a few shows coming up over the next couple of weeks and she asked if I wanted to put some of my stuff in those. So this weekend (tomorrow….also my birthday!!) is Elf Magic at the Cookeville Art Center. It’s a smaller show, but I’m still looking forward to it. I will most likely be at the farmer’s market with my father-in-law in the morning and then hop over to the Art Center as soon as he packs up. Should be a short day because frosts have killed of most of their produce. It will probably be mostly soap sales and delivering milk to our herd share customers. But I’ll go with my hats and try to sell something. 🙂

Then the weekend of November 5th, I believe, is Art Prowl! I love this show! …Come to think of it, I’m not sure why I’m not a member…oh well…There will be various places all around the West Side of Cookeville where artists will have their stuff on display. Marilee Hall has her studio right downtown, stuff at 39 West Broad, Art a la Carte, etc. It’s always a lot of fun. You walk around to different buildings and there are refreshments and in some places there are demos going on too. Each location is marked with an Art Prowl sign. There were potters, wood workers, painters, weavers (my mama!), other fiber artists, etc. 🙂 So I’ll have my stuff with my mom’s in that show.

I think I might actually get like one or two weeks off! Crazy. In which I will probably be working my butt off to produce more stuff. I’m trying to be broad about the types of yarn I use. I’m mostly sticking to about the same dimensions for now because tying on is SO easy. Although, I AM gonna have to cut off some of the previous warps because I don’t have any room left on the cardboard that I use to wind between the warp when I wind on! Which means….I have a lot of warps on there. 🙂 I honestly don’t even remember what the first thing was that I wove on this long string of warps. It’ll be fun to go back to the beginning and see all the different scarves represented by their approximate 10 inches of waste.

Too bad I couldn’t weave that into something. It’d be weird and cool looking. 🙂 Perhaps. Or I could use it as weft for another project. The knots in it make it difficult to weave as a warp because they get stuck in the heddles. Grr…I need inserted eye heddles. I’m NOT loving the flat steel heddles my loom came with. Well I think I’ve probably rambled on for long enough. And I’m more awake now that I’ve been up for a while. (I got to sleep in today. YAY!) But “work” is calling. Hats to knit, scarves to weave. Gotta keep the public warm! hahaha.
~JoAnna

2 thoughts on “Staying busy

  1. I don't pity you with all the "work" you have to do. I wish I could do that all day long! Instead I'm getting more hours at Gigi's b/c the shift leader got fired. That means less time to weave or do anything!! I NEED to start doing shows, darnit! I need to get my name out there and sell stuff! I envy you every single time you talk about a show! I did get the warp tied on- finally! Although I was using a 20 dent reed so the larger knots didn't go through as easily as the super slow fancy knots. That's ok though. Thank you for your help!

  2. Aww I wish you could weave all day too. 😦 I'm glad to hear you figured out tying on. Did you figure out the loop thing that I explained badly? 😉 it gets easier the more you do it and it takes less time with practice.

Leave a Reply

