Monday again

Monday…I’m still worn out from this weekend! I started my day winding off more warp for another scarf. I’m planning on making another sock yarn/waffle weave scarf this week. I don’t think I’ll attempt another 5 scarf week for a while. Or if I do, I’ll have an entire week (maybe two) of prep beforehand. πŸ™‚

I am planning on demoing again at the craft festival this coming Saturday so instead of trying to figure out some way of getting the rest of the warp off the loom while keeping it usable, I’m just leaving it on there. I do plan on changing the threading because I am NOT happy with the results of the scarf I wove on Saturday. (Despite my fam all telling me, “oh it’s beautiful.”) I like the draft I used (an undulating twill) and I like the warp (the sprinkles/Lucky Charms) but together and with a sett too loose for twill, it’s not really very good. I wanted the warp to be more of the focus rather than the draft pattern but it did not end up that way. Looser sett = weft faced. Why do I always seem to forget that?! haha.

I will probably re-thread for plain weave. It’s easy to weave as a demo too. (Not that a straight twill treadling is difficult) Blah. I don’t feel like doing much of anything today. I could work on knitting some cowls this week. I’ve talked to Ben and his dad…well and his mom too…and we all agreed that it might be a good idea to have a $20 dollar item for people to buy because all of my stuff is kind of…well an investment. So if I make a more inexpensive item, people might buy that and then be repeat customers and buy more expensive stuff. This seems like a good idea to me. Ben suggested something like skiers headbands too. I may look around on Ravelry and see if I can find a quick, easy pattern that is a bit more interesting than just knit stitch though.

I have also thought about weaving bookmarks. They would be a pain in the butt to weave on my loom because it’s so wide, but they would weave up quick and I could sell them fairly inexpensively. (BTW: On wider looms it is more difficult to get consistent beating on a narrow project because, obviously, the loom was designed for wide projects which require a heavier beater. So if you’re weaving a narrow project like a 3″ wide bookmark, it’s going to beat too hard and the weft will be very packed in.)

Anyway, I’m trying to think about what else I could make that would be quick and easy and would sell at a lower price. I suppose I’ll have to look around a bit and see what’s out there. Hopefully I’ll come up with something.
~JoAnna

5 thoughts on “Monday again

  1. I think I am kind of burned out on weaving. I wove every free second of every day last week. Now I'm watching hoarders. I am having trouble finding a good draft for a more warp faced weave. Do you have any suggestions? I cut the beginning of the scarf out of the merino wool off my loom because it was fugly, I rethreaded and am doing basket weave. I'm just not happy with any of it 😦

  2. I suppose I should comment on your blog post too, lol. I think Having some different price points is a good idea. I wove a ton of bookmarks at camp on table looms and they were a hit- belts too but those were sorta gimmicky. I like the idea of knitting cowls- can't wait to see process pictures!

  3. Yeah, it seems like it would be good to have little items too! What about coasters? Or "mug rugs"? Those were big on the backstrap weaving site. They're a little wider than a bookmark. Hmm… Anyway, good ideas! Can't wait to see you this weekend! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

