River Rocks!

I’m on my mom’s computer right now and can’t post all my photos, but I did want to blog about River Rocks!!
This show was MUCH more fun than last week at the Autumn Street Fair. I brought my mom’s little Dorset loom. It’s a direct tie-up loom so each treadle only lifts one harness. Anyway, people were fascinated to watch me actually making a scarf in front of them. I think when I say, “I made this.” When talking about a scarf, people don’t understand what it is exactly that I made. But when they see that I actually weave the cloth, it makes much more sense. šŸ™‚

I sold a shawl!!!

Remember this beauty? Well a woman walked into our booth and looked around for about 2 minutes and found this. She said, “Oh this will be perfect for my daughter!! She crochets and she’ll love it.” And bought it. She did not even bat an eye at the price which most people throw a fit about. I’m SO glad that this was the piece I sold because when I took it off the loom and realized how delicate it was, I thought, “Gosh. It’s pretty, but it’s way too finicky for me to want to deal with!!” I didn’t know what I would do with it (other than sell it eventually) Anyway, the woman was VERY happy with it. šŸ™‚ I shall post pictures from the festival later on. šŸ™‚

~JoAnna

3 thoughts on “River Rocks!

  1. Emma!I am certainly trying to make a living! But I'm really just at the very beginning. I have a long way to go. My next step is to list items on my Etsy site. I also ordered business cards. I'm trying to sell things anywhere I can. I've even sold felted hats at the farmer's market in Cookeville. I know this sounds cliche, but it's been hard to sell things in this economy. And since handwoven pieces are a bit of an investment, I'm not selling as much as I may have at one time.

Leave a comment