Festival developments

So it turns out that the festival this weekend is only a one day deal. It will be on Saturday from like 11:30 to 6:30 or something. I’m a bit disappointed because that means less time to sell my stuff. It’s okay though. It’s still getting my name out there and learning more about how to market and all that stuff.

My scarves are coming along well. I’m at the farm today so I’m working on hats. I washed the two boucle shawl/scarves and the log cabin scarf last night so hopefully when I get home I can iron them and price them.

I also got the warp for the third scarf tied on before I stopped yesterday so that all I have to do tomorrow is wind on and weave. Hopefully I’ll be able to get the sock yarn scarf woven up too.

My plan is to have a demo loom set up on Saturday (mom’s lending me her little one) so I can draw more people in. Since I won’t be at the festival until Saturday I can spend Friday getting the demo warp ready. I’m not sure what I’m going to put on yet but I’d like it to be something eye catching.

My brother in law is so smart. He suggested bringing an un felted hat with me so I can show people the difference and they can understand why the felt hats are so much warmer and sturdier. I should have known to do this. My mom always has an un felted hat with her at shows. My mother in law suggested bringing a cone of yarn so people could see and understand what my dyed purses started out as.

Hopefully it’ll be a good, fun weekend and I’ll sell a few things. 🙂 I’m going to get back to work for now.
~JoAnna

One thought on “Festival developments

  1. Those sound like good ideas- people rarely understand the work that gets put into this sort of artwork. I love the idea of bringing a small loom to demonstrate, I think that will certainly draw people in. I can't wait to see pictures of this festival!

Leave a Reply

