Childhood

Lately I have been thinking conceptually about my work. I guess it’s still leftover thoughts from this past semester in weaving II. Anyway, the last project of the semester was a fabric garden. (remember my secret scarf??) Anyway, I love the idea of childhood and child-like art, a child-like view, etc. I was thinking it would be interesting to weave a piece based around the idea of childhood. It would be playful and bright. I don’t really know what it would be…I’ll have to think more about that…But it’s brewing in the back of my head. 🙂

I was noticing whilst sitting at the booth yesterday that my inventory is currently knitting dominated. This really bugs me for some reason. Not that I don’t enjoy knitting! I definitely do, but I want to be known more for my weaving and dyeing than knitting. So I really do need to get shooting out some more boucle scarves. I had big plans for winding off a bunch of warp this afternoon, but instead I watched Dr. Who with Ben and worked on the hat for Haley. (Still needs to be a children’s book title) I guess I’m still making money, but I do wish I’d been able to wind off some warp. I suppose since I’m not working anymore I’ll have time to do that tomorrow. Ideally, I’d like to shoot out 3 more scarves by this weekend, but I don’t think that will realistically happen. We’ll see. I will probably have to go back to the 10 dent reed because the 6 ply rayon (from Webs) really probably shouldn’t be sett lower than 10epi. Well….I guess it’s back to knitting for now.
~JoAnna

2 thoughts on “Childhood

  1. I love that! I can't wait to hear what ends up brewing up in your head about your childhood. Should be so cool! Do you have another festival this weekend? ❤

  2. Yep, yep! We have a 3 day show this weekend in Chatt. I might bring my mom's little bitty loom and demo weaving while we're there. It depends on if I have enough time to get a warp on it or not. We'll see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

