Design thoughts

I didn’t have much to do at work today so I’ve been trying to come up with ideas for weaving designs. Ben and I talk about weaving and designing and art all the time. He’s constantly talking about how the design of a piece is SO important. He’s right and that makes sense for wood or ceramics or other 3D stuff, but I’m trying to figure out what that means for weaving.

It seems like it should be more than pretty colors or cool textures or interesting patterns. Where do I draw the colors, textures and patterns from? Where do I get inspiration and how does that translate to weaving? Also I want to try to use some of the yarn I have instead of just drooling over all the yarns I don’t. I re-read an interesting article on Weavezine today. She talks about different ways of designing within weaving. The big thing that stood out is “define the problem or what you’re trying to accomplish out loud.” I often have scenarios in my head or problems I try to solve but they remain in my head and I never end up solving them. For example: I have a lot of different yarns in lots of different colors and fiber contents. I may have two colors in different weights and/or fiber contents and I really want to use them together in large stripes of color. Is that even possible? Won’t the fabric have an odd texture?

I don’t know. I also often feel so limited by my 4 shafts. Yes, I bought another loom so I can eventually convert to 8 shafts, but I still have no idea how to do that. I need the looms to be side by side. (Which isn’t going to happen in my current living situation) I’ve been struggling with this issue for the past year and a half. I’ve learned a lot about the capabilities of four shafts but I’d like to know more. There is a book called Designing Woven Fabrics (by Janet Phillips) that I would really LOVE to get. It’s a bit expensive and I’ve been afraid of spending that much money. But it seems like everything I read from other weavers points back to that book being great for inspiration. It’s also geared toward 4 shaft weaving. Maybe I can get it for my birthday next month. There are several other books I’d really like to get too. Twill Thrills, Hand Dyeing Yarn and Fleece, and then there’s one that’s something like Favorite Scandinavian Projects to Weave. I’d like to get that too. I’m thinking it might help take some of the guess work out of weaving home decor stuff.

I’m also interested in rep weave. I really don’t know exactly what that means…I just remember Laura McCormick from the fibers dept. using rep weave for her senior thesis show. Those pieces were GORGEOUS!! I’d love to do something similar to that.

Anyway, I might be over thinking this, but I’d like to put at least a little more thought into design of my weavings. I want to really think through whatever my next project will be. 🙂
~JoAnna

One thought on “Design thoughts

  1. Wow, you've got a lot going on in your head. I have a few books I'd like to get too- once the pay checks start coming in. Keep updating with your thought process and inspiration- I feel like I don't experiment enough so maybe you'll inspire me to!

Leave a Reply

