Getting closer!

I had to run some errands today and they took longer than I expected so I didn’t get as much done on the loom as I wanted. But it’s coming along. I am ready to tie onto the front! 🙂 It really only took about…a hour?? to get the warp on the loom after I wound it off. I had to re-thread 30 ends from the previous warp so I could tie on again and while that was annoying, it still didn’t take as long as having to re-dress the entire loom for JUST 90 ends! I am really excited to see how this turns out! I hope it comes out well.

I have also been making some progress on the knitting front. I started another square! I still have no idea how I’m going to come up with 25 squares, but who knows…Maybe I have more yarn than I thought I did.

I watched an episode and a half of Hoarders. Oh my…It makes me want to get rid of everything I own and live a completely minimalistic lifestyle. It also makes me realize how often I justify keeping things that I don’t need to keep. Eeek! I don’t like seeing some of those same thought processes in my own mind.

They all seem to have an addiction to buying things…Retail therapy and all that. I must say, I’ve definitely been there. After my parents got divorced I used shopping as a coping mechanism. I was able to stop myself though!! (Thanks to encouragement from Ben and grace from the Lord!) Anyway, my point is I can understand how it can end up taking over your life like that. I got to the point where I would just buy stuff (clothes) without even thinking about it really. Most of them really didn’t get worn that often because they didn’t fit well because I didn’t care how they fit. I just wanted to buy them….Like I said…Eeek! haha.
I am definitely fascinated by the show! I’m looking forward to getting to watch more.
~JoAnna
PS: I think I hoard yarn…I’m always thinking about it…and wanting to buy it…

2 thoughts on “Getting closer!

  1. First off, minimalistic is the way to go. Too bad I can't do that. Every time I watch Hoarders I have to ask my hubby if he thinks I could be a hoarder or am one just for reassurance. I have similar thought processes too. It always makes me want to clean and throw everything out. Yarn hoarding is a different story- it's something you actually use on a daily basis! At least you're not collecting beer cans and holiday decorations!

  2. I've heard a lot lately about minimalism in possessions… like having a goal of 6 pieces of clothing, or 100 possessions (PERIOD! AH!) or being able to keep all your things (besides furniture) in a trunk and bag. Very interesting ideas to me. And I totally relate to retail therapy! I think its the getting out of the house + distracted from stress part for me. I haven't been doing it lately since I'm, like, out of money haha. But anyway. Hope you get to weave lots today! Saw your in-laws at the farmers market this morning. Didn't buy anything though on account of having said lack of money.

Leave a Reply

