Thoughts on projects and books

I seem to have lost all motivation to do ANYTHING today. I’ve accomplished a bit of cleaning (well straightening up) and 3 loads of laundry and that’s about it…

The books finally came!! I already had one that I told mom to get (Mastering Weave Structures) but I really felt like it would be a good idea for her to have a copy. It’s an excellent book. I didn’t really get much out of the Rigid Heddle book (which was mom’s choice. Duh. They’re her books!) But that’s okay. There may be some interesting stuff that she finds and shows me when she has time to look through it. The book Time to Weave was probably the biggest let down. šŸ˜¦ It’s basically just off the loom, over/under weaving projects. Just the kind of “artsy/crafty” things that I dislike. I feel guilty because I convinced mom to get that particular book and it’s not even really about weaving…well…not loom weaving. šŸ˜¦

The 8 shaft pattern book (The actual name of it is escaping me right now…It’s something about 8 shafts and pattern and book something or other) Anyway, it’s great. I was a bit…well…not frustrated…intimidated?? By the second half of it because it goes from regular drafts to profile, block drafts which I basically know nothing about. I guess you could kind of describe it maybe as shorthand? Like it just shows blocks of the pattern, the tie up and threading. But it’s lettered instead. I read the chapter on block drafts from Learning to Weave something like 4 times and I STILL don’t know how to read a block draft. And I’m not really sure what a profile draft is; definitely don’t know how to read it!! There are sections in the book that look like they explain how these other drafts are used, but I didn’t read them in detail yet. Hopefully I’ll be able to figure it out…
     Oh she also got a book on woven shibori that looks interesting. Oh my GOSH you can do some beautiful things with that! It looked like most of the sample fabrics were with tiny yarn (like 20/2 cotton) which is frustrating. It takes a lot of ends to weave stuff that small. I love the look, but I get intimidated to do projects that are 10 inches wide and have a minimum of 300 ends.

Speaking of 20/2, I believe I mentioned that my 20/2 silk came. šŸ™‚ I’m currently trying to come up with a project that combines silk and 8 shafts. I think I’m going to end up weaving a pinwheel/houndstooth pattern on 8 shafts (once I get the other 4 on there after Wednesday) That will probably be my first project on 8 shafts. I don’t want to do anything super complicated at the beginning and get all frustrated like when I attempted overshot with a slippery yarn I’d never used and without reading up on exactly what overshot entails. Oh dear. That was a disaster. šŸ™‚ But I got a lovely scarf out of it. haha. Anyway. I think I’d like to do that. I could fairly easily tie on with different colors later if I wanted to.
Now if only I could find the motivation to get something done today…
~JoAnna

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on projects and books

  1. I have been completely unmotivated today too. Or maybe paralyzed. Or lazy? Not sure. But. I hate how that feels. But yay for books! I love books. I especially love books that come in the mail. I'm sorry about the let-down books. That is no fun when books aren't what you expect them to be. But its not like you could have known it without reading the book first. I'm rambling. šŸ™‚

  2. PS. Google/blogspot asks me to re-write a secret word to make sure I'm not a spambot when I write comments, and for the above comment it was "blergal."

Leave a Reply

