Finally back to work!!

I began dressing Mac (my loom) today for the placemats. Oh side note: Even if google says placemat is two words, I like it better as one word. Okay. Anyway, I haven’t gotten very far yet, just sleyed the reed, but I’m excited to kind of get back in the swing of things. I’ve missed weaving terribly. I’m pretty excited to get going with projects. I need to do up the calculations for the undulating twill scarves. I suppose I could do a few of those in different colors and just tie back on. I still haven’t unpacked all my yarns yet. I don’t really have any place to put them.

Okay! Staying positive! I have a few color ideas. I mentioned in my last post that I wanted to use the cordovan and coral rayons for one set (possibly just one scarf). I also really like my pumpkin orange silk with my yellow/green Tencel. A bit strange, but for some reason I like it! The aqua Tencel would also be lovely with the orange silk. I gotta come up with something besides using orange silk!! I also have a lovely chocolate brown silk. That would go well with the yellow/green and aqua Tencels. I still want to do Houndstooth Tencel scarves in black and red, as well as black and white. Everyone likes black and white Houndstooth!! 🙂

So I got my dyes!! I’m very excited. And boy HOWDY is it A LOT of dye!! I guess dye powder doesn’t weigh a lot because a pound of dye is a lot! I’m pretty excited though. I may try mixing some dye concentrates up later today. I totally forgot that I don’t have any squeeze bottles to put them in though…I’m not sure what I’ll do about that yet…Hmm…I just really miss dyeing and I can’t wait to get started on something!! I’d love to do a bunch of low water fabrics. I could make some liners for woven bags. I felt SO guilty buying fabric that looked hand dyed to line a few of my bags with. It made me sad. I hope I can figure out some creative combinations with the three colors that I have a TON of. Also, 1 oz of dye is much less than I suspected. I can always overdye things in different shades. I forget about that option. 🙂 Well I must go for now. I have a lot of crafting to think about…
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

