More scarves!

I don’t think I’m actually going to get back to blogging regularly until after graduation… (May 8!!!) I have been working on more stuff though. I wove up two more scarves in the past day and a half. šŸ™‚ I wanted to try some different yarns. I had some acrylic(?) yarn on this HUGE cone and I’ve never used it before…mostly because it’s really scratchy, but I figured I’d try it and see what it does. I mixed it with my 6-ply rayon in the warp and weft both to try to soften it up a bit. I need to wash it and see what it does now.

I was at the fabric store buying some 2″ foam to upholster one of Ben’s chairs for a class he’s in (the chair is due Monday!!) and I wandered through the small yarn section they have in the store. (Bad plan for someone addicted to yarn) I ended up buying two balls of sock yarn to try weaving with. It’s wonderfully soft. I was a bit sad that it was 50% superwash merino wool (ick…superwash…), but that’s okay. It was weird weaving with something so stretchy!! The tension has to be a lot looser, but thankfully I had a little experience with wool/stretchiness from the cloque sampler we did in my weaving class this semester. Anyway, the sock yarn scarf came out really soft and wonderful. I can’t wait to see how it fulls in when I wash it. šŸ™‚ The first images are of the acrylic/rayon scarf and the second set is of the sock yarn scarf.
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

