After a rather long absence…

Yes, I’ve been gone for a while. Sorry! I’ve got 18 hours this semester, had spring break a couple of weeks ago and I’ve been sick for the past few days. 😦 I am determined to write about SOMETHING though!

First of all, a follow up to my last post. I attempted dyeing a warp using the Jacquard Pigment dyes. It…didn’t really work…Well it did, but I’m not really satisfied with the results. All the colors (green, purple and blue) kind of muddied together and turned grey-ish…Oh well. The main thing is that I am not sure it’ll remain colorfast. These dyes, since they are technically pigment, need to be heat set. I tried that to an extent, but the yarns were really wet and weren’t drying. So my plan is to warp as normal, weave as normal and then when I take the scarves off the loom, I’ll put them in the dryer for a while and THEN wash them out. πŸ™‚ Hopefully it will work.

Oh also, I attempted dyeing a ball of yarn. I think it would have gone better if I hadn’t tried to scour it in the washing machine (haaaa…), had paid better attention to the directions and wound the ball LOOSELY instead of very tight and dipped the ball instead of pouring dye onto it. Lessons learned.:)

Okay. This picture is from Craftzine.com. I found it while stumbling. I have been planning on starting an “herb” garden for a while. This is just one idea I had for how to go about it. I was talking to Ben’s mom the other day about herbs and she said that they actually make good house plants. I may also just buy some pots or a big pot and plant them in there. πŸ™‚ I’m super excited but it’s not happening until we move because I don’t want to try to move even MORE plants across the country. Anyway, this post is brief, but I’m getting sleepy and need to rest up to get better! πŸ™‚
 ~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

