Dyeing warp yarn non traditionally

I’m in search of way to dye a cellulose warp (i.e. plant fiber. Cotton, linen, rayon, etc) I’m completely determined that I don’t have to buy Procion MX dyes. De. Ter. Mined. However, I have yet to discover how this is possible…

I would like to try the Jacquard Pigment Dyes that Dahrma Trading Co. carries. Mom has some of these so I may try that sometime soon.

From my understanding, Kool-Aid dyeing doesn’t work on cellulose fibers. Boo! 😦

This idea has been in my head for a long time. I’m not really sure what my aversion to buying Procion dyes is about…I just don’t think it’s necessary. I want to try it with something else.

It would be great if I could find something to use from my kitchen. That’s why I went through my natural dye stage.

Anyway, I don’t know anything, I haven’t found anything for certain, but I want to figure this out. 🙂

I posted a question to Weavolution (I believe it was in the It’s a Good Day to Dye group forum) a while ago asking if anyone had tried the pigment dyes on yarn. All I got was, “No. But it wouldn’t work because it would alter the hand. Read the disclaimer/instructions/information on the website.” Then how does it NOT effect the hand of the silk scarves that my mom dyes by hand using the pigment dyes? I might actually have the time this weekend to do this! I hope so. I’m supposed to be working on dyeing this warp right now, but I don’t want to interrupt the demo in the surface 1 class.

I should go work on altered fabrics. 🙂

~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

