Waffles in my future

I’ve been trying to come up with ideas for what I want to weave this semester. I sat down with the Handweaver’s Pattern Directory and Mastering Weave Structures last night and went through both of them looking for different structures, projects, etc. that I’d like to learn how to do.

First of all, I eliminated the things I DON’T want to do…At least not yet. I skipped over most of the twills and the tabby section in Pattern Directory. I’m trying to focus on structures that are a little bit more complicated.

The first one I’ve decided to work on is Waffle Weave! (The Brits refer to it as honeycomb) Here’s a picture of what the structure looks like.

I borrowed this photo from the Schacht website. I’m pretty excited about it. I’ll probably just start with a 8″ wide, 3 yd. warp. I’m still trying to figure out what sett to use. She uses a sett of 10 on a rigid heddle loom. (Which means she was probably using thicker yarns) I’m planning on using a 5/2 perle cotton. It’s on the larger side, but still much smaller than knitting yarn. It’s about the same size as lace weight knitting yarn. It’s actually a pretty simple structure. It uses a basic twill threading. (I believe) Anyway, that’s what I’m going to put on the loom at school. I’m still not sure what’s going on Mac (at home). I may put the 20/2 sampler on him. I’d like to test the yarn before I put a whole 8 yd. warp on there. It’s just really intimidating because the “yarn” is basically sewing thread!! I’m hoping it makes for really soft cloth. I’ll probably just do a simple plain weave on it. I may put in some white stripes of 10/2 perle cotton to add a little texture and interest. 🙂 I wish I were home so I could get to work!!
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

