Weaving for school = fun

I forgot how fun it is to have weaving be part of school! I’m not really sure what I’m going to do, but I’m excited. šŸ™‚

I put on a warp of some natural and tanish brown 5/2 perle cotton sett at 18 epi, 8 inches wide. My instructor, Jeanne, said that we don’t have to feel pressured to do something crazy. She said we need to figure out what we want to do/learn and be true to ourselves and our path. A bit new age-y perhaps, but that’s okay. I get what she’s saying. I WAS feeling pressure to do something crazy. I was going to try weaving with some corn husks, but now that I don’t HAVE to do crazy stuff, I want to. So I think this warp will be to try out the corn husk plan. It could be horrible, it could be wonderful. But either way, I think it will be fun.

After that, I’d really like to try weaving a collapse weave scarf. I want to try it two ways: wool in the warp so it shrinks lengthwise and wool in the weft so it shrinks widthwise. But not in the same sampler. It was pretty quick to get a warp on there. I sat down and did it all in about 3 ish hours. But it was only 144 ends. I forgot how quick a scarf width warp can get on there.

What else have I been really wanting to try out? …I’ll have to look and see if I have lists anywhere. Well I definitely want to do a painted warp. I was thinking it might be cool to do a painted warp with tea for the dye. It wouldn’t be color fast, but I wouldn’t have to wash it. I’d also like to try some weird slubby yarns to get some texture in there. There was a really interesting slub yarn over on the shelves in the weaving studio. I might try some of that. Jeanne also keeps talking about skip dent fabrics so I’m interested to see what that might be like.

Gracious! I thought I was frustrated with how Macombers worked. But now, having used Mac for almost a year, going back to the LeClerc is horrible. *lol* The main thing that I like about going back to the LeClerc, is the tie up system works better than mine (because mine’s a bit dilapidated) and the heddles are better. But I can BUY heddles! That’s not hard at all! I think I’d like to have wire heddles. I have been considering Texsolv. But I just don’t want string heddles. Seems icky and annoying. I think the wire ones would be quieter, lighter and less directionally inclined than whatever these are that I currently have. They’re frustrating. And they don’t all match which is annoying.

I’m looking forward to getting into the meat of this class. I’m happy to be back in the fibers studio too. It’s like being back home; almost like I never left.
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

