New Year!!

Happy New Year! Yes, I’m a couple days late, but my poor computer is very sick with a nasty virus and I haven’t had access to it. Which also means that there won’t be pictures on this post. Oh well. I survived most of last year without pictures. I think I’ll be okay. 🙂

I’m not really the type of person that makes resolutions. My family never did it. My husband’s family goes about it in a little bit of a different way. Sometime soon after the new year starts, we all sit down with various lists of goals that we would like to accomplish, whether big, or small, we share them and then we discuss how to make them happen. We all try to help each other accomplish each goal that the other has as best we can.

I haven’t really sat down and thought about what goals I want to set for myself for the year.
I try to categorize things for myself. Like I want to set personal goals as well as goals for my business/crafts.

Personal Goals:
1. Continue working out on a regular basis
2. Don’t shut down over the summer! Get up and do things!
3. Where ever we end up, make new friends. Be bold.

Craft Goals:
1. Continue weaving regularly
2. Try to do some at home dyeing
3. Start an Etsy site!
4. Start looking for kilns, wheels, ceramics equipment.
5. See if Vince can look at the kiln mom has.
6. Sell more work!
7. Build up an inventory of items to sell
8. Participate in a craft show/Festival(?)

This may not happen so I don’t want to set it as a goal, but I seriously hope we end up being able to move to Colorado. I think it will be really good for us to be able to be somewhere else before we settle down in Spencer.
We’re hoping for Denver. The thought behind this whole thing is for Ben to be able to get some practical experience working for a woodworker building furniture. And for us to be somewhere else and experience something else.
We both just thought it was a little scary to think about graduating and then settling down to the place we’re going to end up living for the rest of our lives…ACK! So we’re putting it off and trying to go somewhere else.

Another thought (sort of plan B) is moving to Knoxville for a while. We have some friends there and it would be a new place that’s NOT here. 🙂
Denver would be nice because Ben would have woodworking and I might be able to get involved with a weaving community. Boulder, CO, from my understanding, is a hot spot for weaving. It’s actually where Schacht Spindle Co. is based.

I did a little research and there are a lot of different weaving and textile things of interest in Denver. There’s a textiles center which holds workshops, classes, etc. It also has a gallery and volunteer opportunities. One of the museums (I can’t remember which one) has an entire section devoted to just textiles. Awesome! All in all, whatever happens, I’m excited and scared all at the same time about the big move to the unknown. 🙂
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

