November already?!

I can’t believe it’s November already! School is keeping me so busy and it’s going by so fast! I can’t believe that I only have one semester left and then I graduate!

My yarn still isn’t here. The tracking info says Monday. 😦 I don’t want to wait that long! I got to weave a little last night on the scarves. I’m still on scarf #1. I got the pattern at the bottom of it done though. I’m not entirely sure I’m happy with it…But that’s okay. I can maybe sell it. I’m also not sure I’m crazy about the tabby on rayon…For the second scarf I might try a straight twill and see how that looks. We were talking about different weaves in my Textiles class and my professor said that twill weaves are usually looser than plain weaves. Maybe I could try a basket weave variation too…I just wish I had the time to sit down and weave more!! Maybe I should have sampled a little more at the beginning. I was just worried about not having enough space to weave three scarves on a warp.

Ohhhh!! What if I did the cordovan, orange and red scarf/runner in a basket weave?? Here are the colors:


I was thinking of using the rayon (Cordovan/plum) for warp and then using the orange and red for weft. Seems like a good idea…For now anyway…I want to start using longer warps though. I got frustrated with short warps this summer. It seemed like I was always dressing my loom. Which was good, because it taught me quickly how my loom works and how to dress a loom quickly and efficiently. But weaving is the fun part. And longer warps allow for more weaving time. I’ll keep thinking about what else I could do.
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

