So little time!

I haven’t been able to weave much lately. I’ve been too busy with school. I’m working on another round of projects that are due next week. Yuck. About all I’ve had time to do is knit a little here and there. I’m working on hat # 7 from the yarns I bought. Mom gave me some more yarn for my birthday so that’s stretching my yarns a bit further. I’m hoping to be able to sell some of them at the craft fair coming up next(?) weekend. I can’t actually remember when it is…

I was telling my husband the other day that I usually have about 4 or 5 weaving projects in my head at the same time. It drives me crazy because I can’t get them all out! I had this idea for a scarf or a table runner using a dark plum purple (almost brown or black) and a dark orange and red. I also have some lovely 20/2 cotton in a royal blue that I have been wanting to try weaving a scarf out of. I wound off some warp when I was at school in the spring and it was also 20/2 cotton in a lovely teal. I only wound off a few pairs of the teal because I wanted it to be an accent stripe for the scarf warp I have on there now, but it turned out to be too much thinner. (A fact I was not considering at the time) So I’ve had it sitting in my stash for 8 months.

I’ve also been thinking about making a scarf set based on a book that I’m reading called Dune. (I think I mentioned this project) Yes, I keep saying scarves, but they’re my favorite thing to do because they’re quick and easy and you can wear them. I love things I can wear. šŸ™‚ Also, I like to show off a bit by wearing and accessorizing with my handwovens. Can’t help it. haha. Anyway, the scarf would be a navy blue with a sandy brown. I was thinking I’d do it in a log cabin pattern. I’ve never tried log cabin, but it’s just color and weave. It can’t be that hard. šŸ™‚

As for other projects, I’m really fascinated by Fair Isle knitting and I REALLY want to learn how to do it! I think mom and I are planning on trying to learn how it works over my winter break. I didn’t feel confidant enough in my knitting skills to attempt to learn how to do it on my own.

I’m always finding inspiration for colors and patterns everywhere!! Now if I could just get them out of my head and onto a loom or some needles…
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

