Fall, yarns, cold weather, ceramics

I suppose I shall go with the trend. Everyone here is talking about the wonderful fall weather we’re having. It was chilly this morning when I woke up. I love the smell and feel of fall. I love that it’s sunny but crisp when you walk outside. I love the sound of leaves crunching beneath your feet, I love walks in the woods (but I love that any time of year.)

Anyway, it feels like when fall hits I want to craft even more. Maybe it’s the whole idea of preparing for winter (even though there’s pretty much no chance of getting snowed in here in TN) I just always feel like fall is a time to buckle down the hatches and get ready for the real cold that’s coming in a few months.

I got my yarns yesterday for knitting. I can’t tell you how much I miss weaving!! Knitting does dissipate the feeling of longing to work on my loom, but it’s still there.
Anyway, I’m excited to knit up some lovely hats. I plan on making some and trying to sell them at my mother’s booth in an upcoming craft fair in Nov. I don’t think selling them for $30 is unreasonable. Most quality hats and beanies sell for about that much. Or at least the ones from the outdoor stores do. I guess they sell for between $20-$30. But I’m going with $30. 🙂

I have been SO tired this week! I’ve spent…14 or more hours working in the clay studio in the past 4 days. And I’m going back later today, tomorrow, and probably over the weekend too. I have made so much stuff!! It’s been a lot of fun but it’s exhausting. Spending that much time bent over a wheel makes you ache all over. But the majority of my stuff is currently in the kilns being bisque fired. Then all I have to do is glaze it all and high fire it.

I’ve been a bit nervous about using the kilns, but my instructor showed us how to use them yesterday and it wasn’t really all that complicated. (kinda like a microwave…*lol*) The main thing is keeping track of time. For a bisque firing, you have to set it for 8 hours to come up to temperature because you don’t want anything to crack by heating the kiln up too fast. I’m not really sure how high firing works. I suppose I should read my book. That’s what my instructor would tell me.

At any rate, I’m excited that I’m learning things. I really can’t wait until I have my own studio so that I can fire things right when I’m ready instead of having to wait for everyone else in the class to get there stuff ready and all fire at once.
I’d like to get one of the electric kilns like we have at school. My mother has one that needs some fixing up, but it’s a good little kiln. I was really surprised how much fits into just one! you just put shelves in it and you can stack and nest everything and pack it in very closely. It’s pretty cool. Most everyone’s stuff fit into just one 23″ electric kiln. And we all had about 6 mugs, 6 tumblers, 4 bowls, and a variety of other things that got put in.

Needless to say I’m very excited to start setting up my own studio. I think I could be quite happy weaving scarves, knitting hats, and throwing bowls for a very long time. 🙂 I really enjoy bowls. I think I just need more practice with pulling handles because at this point, I don’t love it. Someday soon I shall be able to do this all the time and make what I want.
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

