Simple is Beautiful

That statement is basically what and who I am as an artist. I know that there are a lot of wonderful, beautiful things out there that are complicated but I also know that simple things are beautiful. When I print and do dye work, I don’t like really busy patterns. I don’t like so many different colors. When I work with ceramics I like simple shapes that don’t have a lot of bells and whistles. I’m always attracted to paintings that have simple brush strokes and large areas of solid color.
I know myself. And I know that part of my love for simplicity comes from being lazy. 🙂 But it’s not just that. I just don’t like things to be busy. It makes me feel stressed or uncomfortable. And that plays in to another facet of me as a person: I’m all about comfort.
I struggled with trying to find who I am as an artist. I don’t really know why that was so important to me but it started with the question of why I was drawn to fibers in the first place. I didn’t really have an answer. But now that I’ve thought about it for a long time, I feel like it’s because of the tactile qualities. Ever since I was a little girl I’ve loved fabric. I used to buy remnants of fabrics that I loved the feel of. I wouldn’t sew them into anything, I just wanted to have them so I could feel them over and over again. I love fabrics with a very heavy drape.
I have also always had a love for color and in learning how to dye fabric, I fell in love with fibers.

Now I’ve fallen in love with the wonderful texture that come with weaving. I love the way something can seem so stiff on the loom but when you take it off, it falls into a pile of lovely fabric.
I just need to keep reminding myself of the reasons I fell in love with fibers in the first place. And that I’m not the primary provider for my family. I don’t HAVE to make money with weaving. I could simply enjoy it for myself and give things to my family.
My sweet husband reminded me of that a few weeks ago and I think it’s something I need to remind myself of. 🙂
~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

