Problems

I’ve been having more trouble with this variegated scarf than I thought. ughh…My left selvage broke twice because my draw in was too tight. But now the right selvage looks to be on the verge of breaking and it isn’t a problem with draw in so I don’t really know what the problem is. Perhaps the yarn that I chose as warp is just not strong enough for the weft I chose. I’m sure it’s probably possible to weave it up, but I’m not sure if I’m going to. I don’t have much of that yarn and I really don’t want to waste it on something that isn’t going to work. I could use the warp I have on there as something else and re-use the weft so that I’m not losing 14 inches of a yarn that I don’t have a lot of…
I feel like since I’ve been weaving on my own I’ve been learning a lot…but I’m learning all of it by trial and error. I don’t really feel like I’ve had one successful project and that’s really frustrating. I know it’s important to learn but it’s very discouraging. I still don’t feel like I have anything ready to sell at Fun Fest yet. I know I can do this and I know I’m very much a beginner. I guess most people probably go through this stage. I’m having all these problems that I didn’t have at school and I don’t really understand why…
Well… I guess in the back of my head I know I’m not being as careful and thinking things all the way through like I did at school. I’m completely determined to weave this entire warp. I haven’t really woven anything yet that I feel like is complete. I will weave this scarf completely. And then I’m going to try to use some of my cotton which is a lot stronger and can handle more mistakes.
I’m also going to try and work on weaving better. Watching my selvages, taking my time instead of rushing, and thinking things through fully. A lot of learning is experimenting and that’s what I’m doing. I just need to keep track of what’s working and what isn’t.

What I’ve Learned So Far…
1. 5/2 cotton should not be set higher than about 20 epi.
2. 3/2 cotton cannot be set at 30 epi.
3. Short warps are annoying. *lol*
4. Tencel is not necessarily the strongest fiber
5. WATCH MY LEFT SELVAGE FOR DRAW IN!
6. Repairing a broken warp yarn isn’t really hard.
7. I’m thinkin’ Tencel shouldn’t be set below 2o epi.
8. My brain can’t handle long overshot patterns.
9. Twill treadling looks beautiful with overshot threading.
10. Silk noil yarn is not fun.
Just gotta keep reminding myself I’m LEARNING!! 🙂 And that simple is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

