Message just for you

I always love when I’ve been wondering or pondering something intensely (sometimes to the point of frustration) and God puts something small in my life to remind me to enjoy what I’m doing now.

Lately I have been feeling like my loom isn’t good enough or that it was a mistake to buy a loom that only has 4 shafts. Today I was surfing my weaving sites and I read Syne Mitchell’s blog about 4 shaft weaving. She talks about the beauty in simple 4 shaft structures and how just because you can weave something more complicated, doesn’t mean you have to. This was just what I needed to hear. I’m glad that my Heavenly Father is in control and that He watches over every tiny detail of my life. Even something as silly as frustration over something that I should just be grateful for.

It was a great reminder of why I fell in love with weaving in the first place. I love the rhythm of it. How each movement develops into something like a dance. I love that all the calculations are logical and all make sense and fit together perfectly. I love the color and texture of yarn and how exciting it is to see what you get when you combine them. Isn’t it wonderful how God gave man a desire to create? I never thought I could love or even remotely like something that was based on math. But I’m slowly discovering that if you’re an artist of any type, math is important. I enjoy sitting down and thinking through the calculations for weaving because it’s really just simple algebra and I’ve missed that. WEIRD!! I’m definitely NOT a math person so for those words to even go through my head is sort of a miracle.
Anyway, I just wanted to share this reminder. A reminder that simple things are beautiful and that our Creator is always watching and knows every aspect of our lives. What a comfort! 🙂

~JoAnna

Leave a Reply

